Guesty Locks Manager: Guest Code Activation Best Practices

Set guest code activation before ETA

You can update your default lock code settings including the guest code activation time. Setting the guest code activation before the default ETA time can be used to allow guests who arrive a bit earlier than ETA to be able to access the property.

For example:

Property check-in time is 15:00. Code activation time is set to 30 minutes before ETA, allowing guests to use their code at 14:30.

Scheduled early arrivals

For scheduled early arrivals, the guest ETA should be updated in the specific reservation

The code activation time will be automatically based on the new ETA, however it will not be changed immediately. Allow up to 20 minutes for the time to be updated after the ETA is changed.

For example: 

Property check-in time is 15:00. Code activation time is set to 30 minutes before ETA. 

In a reservation, you've updated the guest ETA to 13:00 for a scheduled early arrival. The guest code will be activated at 12:30, based on the reservation ETA and the code activation time.

  • ETA must be a time in the future

You can change the ETA in a reservation on the day of check-in, as long as it is still a time in the future. For example, at 12:00 you can change the ETA to 14:00 for the same day.

Important:

The code will not update if you try to set an ETA that has already passed.

Unexpected early arrivals

If a guest unexpectedly arrives earlier than the activation time, and you would like to give them access to the property immediately, changing the reservation's ETA time will not work.

For example:

Property check-in time is 15:00. Code activation time is set to 30 minutes before ETA. 

Without requesting early check-in, the guest arrives at 12:00 and contacts you. If at 12:02 you change the reservation ETA to 12:00, the activation time will not change as it is in the past.

The guest code will not be activated until 14:30, based on the set timing.

  • Provide immediate access

To give the guest immediate access, you can share a team member code from the Lock Info page.

As a security measure, we recommend deleting a team member code that is shared with a guest, since team member codes do not expire. You can always create a new team member code as needed.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful